Teen Vogue Fashion University

I really have no words to describe what I have experienced today. It was the annual Teen Vogue Fashion University, where an elite 500 people from across the world are chosen to attend, and I was one of them! The day was hectic, and jam-packed but very memorable.

My day began at 9am at the Millenium Hotel where every student was summoned to registration and given a giant LeSportsac travel bag filled with goodies.

At 9:45 we all took our seats and awaited Amy Astley’s Q and A session with Grace Coddington. If you are unfamiliar with Grace, you should go and look her up ASAP. She is one of the most influential people in the fashion industry and currently holds the position of creative editor at Vogue.

As 11am rolled around, our classes began, and every student was separated according to their schedule. During this period I saw Olivier Theyskens speak about his brands, Theory and Theyskens Theory. He spoke about his brand’s goals, and how his personal style is sprinkled into everything he does.

At 12:30 I had a Q and A session at the Conde Nast building with Jane Keltner De Valle and Peter Som. The class focused mostly on how Peter Som started his brand, and also on how to break out into the fashion industry. After the session, I had the opportunity to chat one-on-one with each of them.

Jane Keltner De Valle- Teen Vogue’s Fashion News Director

Peter Som– designer

1:30-2:30 was a lunch break, but how could I eat when there were so many influential people in the same building as me! I had to go and explore.

From 2:30-4:45pm was one of my favorite parts of the day because it was so spontaneous and unplanned. I got a sneak peek at the Teen Vogue offices! (More on that tomorrow.)

At 4pm I got to sit in on a lecture with two of my all-time favorite fashion bloggers, Rumi Neely (from Fashiontoast) and Bryanboy! They spoke about how they got their start, made relationships with the right people, and made a niche in the fashion world for themselves. The session was so fun because the two are such close friends that it felt very natural and personal. After the class ended, I sprinted to Rumi and Bryan to tell them how much I look up to each of them and their fearless style. I turned bright red when Rumi and I made eye contact because she is such an inspiration.

Bryan boy- Bryanboy.com

Rumi Neely- Fashiontoast.com

As the end of the day neared, the whole “grade” gathered back at the Millenium Hotel at 5:15 to listen in on the editors panel. Five Teen Vogue Editors (Fashion, Style, Beauty, Accessories, and the Editor in Chief) gathered to answer the class’s questions and conclude the day.

The Editorial Panel

Andrew Bevan- Teen Vogue’s Style Blogger and Associate Features Editor

Amy Astley- Teen Vogue’s Editor in Chief

Overall, the day was incredible and completely worthwhile. I learned so much about the fashion industry, and met so many great people. Whether it be the other “students” attending, the designers, or the Teen Vogue staff, everyone there was so nice (and well-dressed). We were all there to learn and have a good time, both of which were accomplished!
*Check back tomorrow about the FashionU Graduation & my tour of the Teen Vogue Offices*

One thought on “Teen Vogue Fashion University

Leave a Reply

