PUNK: Chaos to Couture

This morning, I went to the MET to see the new PUNK: Chaos to Couture exhibit. I went at 9:30, just as the museum was opening, to beat the lines/crowd. The exhibit started off with the “Chaos” rooms, filled with Vivienne Westwood. There was a replica of the original CBGB bathroom, alongside big TV screens playing The Sex Pistols and other punk bands. As I weaved in and out of each room, I made my way to the “Couture” section. It was set up with a runway walkway with mannequins sporting Dolce and Gabbana and Comme des Garçons in the middle.

Screen Shot 2013-05-27 at 1.28.41 PM

 

I did have quite high expectations about this exhibit, and it did not disappoint. Although I had wished there had been a bit more variety of designers in the “Chaos” section, it was a complete time warp and one in which I wish I had been a part of. I found the “Chaos” section to have much more personality than that of the “Couture,” since it fully embodied the emotion of that time. However, the exhibit was great as a whole. It flowed really well and was the perfect combination of fashion and music.
Screen Shot 2013-05-27 at 1.29.15 PMIf you plan on visiting the PUNK exhibit, I recommend you go bright and early in the morning to avoid crowds. The exhibit will be open all summer.

One thought on “PUNK: Chaos to Couture

Leave a Reply

