Kanye West: The Yeezus Tour

I have never been the worlds biggest Kanye West fan, however on Wednesday night when I was presented with the opportunity to attend his Barclays Center show with Kendrick Lamar, I jumped at the opportunity.

It was his first of 4 New York area shows, and his first solo tour in 5 years.

Screen Shot 2013-11-22 at 5.52.46 PM

Kanye took that stage on-time at 9:15, pretty shocking considering the last time I saw him perform (at Governors Ball) he came on stage 45 minutes late.

The stage consisted of a giant mountain/volcano with a huge screen in the background. There was also a large ice cliff that rose from the ground, so that Kanye could look down on the audience as he sang 2 songs which he dedicated to his mother. Throughout the show, Kanye wore different face masks made by Margiela. It wasn’t until “white Jesus” took the stage that Kanye removed his mask and bent down in admiration. He then proceeded to sing “I am God” and “Jesus Walks.”

He sang old hits & new hits, constantly moving and leaping from song to song. He worked every single part of the stage, as everyone at the Barclays Center had a perfect view of Yeezy.

Screen Shot 2013-11-22 at 5.53.10 PM

My personal opinion of the show was that he was focusing a bit too hard on being artistic and controversial. He had a crew of about 15 women who wore panty hose on their head come out and do strange things to freak the crowd out. While this was entertaining, it was simply weird and unnecessary. I also wasn’t wowed by Kanye’s 15 minute auto-tuned rant about how he carries such a burden of being an artistic genius. However, it was during this rant that my eyes wandered to the back of the room, where I saw Kim Kardashian, Grace Coddington, and Anna Wintour all sitting in VIP. It was quite a moment for me. I must’ve looked like I was particularly moved by Kanye’s sermon, but no, I was just stunned and shocked by the faces in the back.

Anyway, if you ever get the chance to see Kanye live, I say GO FOR IT! It was quite the experience and pretty interesting. Through it all, he still raps really well and certainly knows how to work the crowd.

After all… It’s Kanye’s world, we’re all just living in it.

Leave a Reply

