Best iPhone Photo Apps

Recently iPhonography has become the latest and greatest thing. People are ditching their bulky, expensive Digital cameras and using their phones instead. I am not saying that I support using phones to replace cameras, but I must admit that there’s something nice about the accessibility and size of a phone. They allow you to capture every moment quickly and pretty clearly. Now whether you think that being able to photograph things so easily can ruin the quality of what you are taking the photo of is completely up to you, but I believe that it’s just another medium of creativity.

I am also equally as guilty of editing my photos to insane proportions. I find that editing the photos on my iPhone before I post them on Instagram/Facebook can be just as fun as taking them. Yes, it is a huge waste of time, but if I’m ever waiting to meet a friend making hard decisions like Amaro or Valencia can be extremely entertaining.

Since I am a “Master Editor” I am going to share with you a few of my favorite iPhone apps to take photos with and to edit on:

Fun Apps to take photos with:

1. Squara. This app allows you to take/upload photos into the 2×2, or 4×4 boxes. You can then add in unique borders, light leaks, and filters.

Screen Shot 2014-01-11 at 11.29.58 PM

2. Incredibooth. This is a really fun app which takes a photo booth  strip of 4 pictures. You can choose from four different filters.Screen Shot 2014-01-11 at 11.29.48 PM3. Hipstamatic. Use this app by choosing different film and lens combinations. Each photo you take will have a completely different feel to it. Screen Shot 2014-01-11 at 11.29.37 PM

The Best Editing Apps:

1. VSCO. When you sign up for this app they make you create an app profile that your photos will be linked to. You will also receive an online profile… It’s sort of like Instagram. The app allows you to add all sorts of filters and mess with the balance of the picture. Almost every insta-famous person uses this app to edit their photos. I urge you to search the hashtag: #vscocam #vsco
Screen Shot 2014-01-11 at 11.29.05 PM 2. Afterlight. This is my all-time favorite app. I use it for every picture I take. Before I upload an Instagram, I always put the photo into Afterlight and play with it a little. The app is very easy to maneuver. It allows you to add endless filters (my favorites are Relic and Breeze) and then has really cool light leaks and film grains you can add on. You can also mess with your pictures brightness, sharpness, exposure, and saturation. It lets you do it all! The best thing about the app are the borders. They have these really cute polaroid borders (below) and the very popular while/black border that let you upload a normal sized photo onto Instagram.

I definitely recommend. Screen Shot 2014-01-11 at 11.29.13 PM

Leave a Reply

