Firefly, Coachella, and Govball OH MY!

I am actually speechless on this one… This past week three different music festivals released their lineups. They are superb.

The first of the 3, Coachella (CA), was released last Wednesday evening and features notable headliners like Lana Del Ray, Arcade Fire, Muse, etc. Perhaps the most talked about performer is Outkast, a group who will be reuniting at the festival. Outkast will go on to play Firefly and GovBall after this, so if you miss them at Coachella, don’t sweat it!

Okay, now on to the 2nd festival: Governors Ball (NY).  After last year, where so many people complained about the mud and threatened to not return, they knew they had to do something to draw back the crowds again. This lineup will certainly do the trick. When I saw that the Strokes, Vampire Weekend, and Phoenix were all going to be performing at the same time, I think my heart skipped a beat. Normally, festivals put all the lesser known acts in smaller font, but not on this flyer. As my eyes went down the list I expected to see smaller names of bands which I am unfamiliar with, but no. The lineup is so good for GovBall that even the “smaller bands” are “big.”

Finally, the Firefly Music Festival (DE) released their lineup yesterday. What I love most about this festival is that on top of the stellar music acts, the festival itself is such a kumbaya experience. There is so much to do and there are never any moments where you are bored. Although I’ve never been to Bonaroo, I’d imagine that it’s kind of a similar experience in the way that people are very friendly with each other. It’s also really cool just because the festival is in the middle of nowhere. As for the lineup this year, it is much more Indie-Rock than GovBall and Coachella. A lot of the bands going are bands that I would pay to see on their own: Arctic Monkeys, Weezer, Young The Giant, Portugal the Man, etc. This festival/lineup gets two thumbs up from me.

Screen Shot 2014-01-16 at 1.14.00 AM

I attended the Governors Ball and Firefly Music Festival last year, and plan on going to all three in 2014… I’m pretty psyched to say the least. If you have any questions about any of the festivals I would be happy to answer them in the comments section!

Leave a Reply

