The Met Gala 2014

I never exercise, period. I’m waaaay too lazy to get off my couch or to stop eating, so I always just put off the “working out” until another day. Yesterday, however, was a day unlike any other. I was feeling especially motivated and decided I would go for a nice jog with two friends around the Central Park reservoir. I have truly never been so happy that I decided to run… here’s why… After my first jog of 2014 (I promise, I’m not kidding), I was drenched in blood, sweat, and tears. My friends decided I was too much baggage to run with, so we decided to stop and get off at the 87th street exit of the park to make a small detour. The Met Gala was happening and we knew that since we were in the area we had to go check it out. After walking the 2 blocks over to the Met, we were greeted with a couple hundred people waiting on the east side of the street, as big black Escalades pulled up to the tent on the west. We quickly spotted an empty pole and all clung to it for dear life. I had a whole new viewpoint from up there. Is this how tall people normally feel? Anyway, as the sun began to set, more and more people started to show up and the hype began to build. Who would wear what designer? Who would be the best dressed? These were all questions I hoped that I could answer myself by the end of the night.

Screen Shot 2014-05-07 at 12.47.26 AM

my view

At this point I reeked of metal and BO, but I knew it would eventually pay off… and at this very moment Ryan Reynolds and Blake Lively got out of a car 10 feet in front of my eyes. BOOM. I knew the exercising was worth it. Within a matter of minutes, I saw Lupita gracefully float into the tent, Cara Delevingne take a selfie with Reese Witherspoon, and A$AP Rocky flash his grillz. I witnessed Emma Stone and Andrew Garfield get out of their car on 83rd and walk hand-in-hand up to the tent’s entrance on 84th. I saw Tom and Giselle, David and Victoria, Taylor Swift, and Karlie Kloss. I must’ve been dreaming. It was all too good to be true. Probably the best part of the night was being able to see some of the gowns in real life. It’s awesome seeing them in pictures and on TV, but nothing can compare to watching a dress sway, twist, and dance in real-time. As for the Best Dressed of the night, I narrowed it down to my 4 favorite photos below.

Leave a Reply

