Firefly Music Festival 2014: An Overview

I just returned home from the Firefly Music Festival in Dover, Delaware. I attended 2 out of the 4 days of the festival and it was a blast! Here’s my Firefly 2014 rundown =

Who I Saw:

| My favorite performer of the weekend was, without question, the Arctic Monkeys. They have been my favorite band for as long as I can remember and yet again they put on an insane show. I pushed my way up to the front during Iron & Wine, so I was nice and close when Alex Turner took the stage at 6:45pm. They played all my favorites, old hits and a lot of songs off their latest album, AM. It was magical.

| If anyone ever offers you tickets to a Girl Talk concert, don’t hesitate and TAKE THEM. Initially, I was pretty indifferent about seeing them, but from the moment Girl Talk took the stage at 12:15am I never wanted to leave. The whole crowd was a party. There were blow up animals crowd-surfing through the crowd, and giant machines blowing toilet paper into the pit. He blended mashup on top of mashup for a totally fun environment. The crowd was just there to have a good time and to get down and dance!

| Imagine Dragons put on a great show. I was standing pretty far back, but had a really good view of the area. They ended with “Radioactive,” and brought the Cage The Elephant’s lead singer on stage to help out with the chorus.

| Foo Fighters were awesome! No one else was performing at the same time as them, so the whole festival turned up for the show.

The Food:

The food at the festival was surprisingly great. There was so much variety in choices; they had everything from kale smoothies and salads, to burrito bowls and stir fry noodles.

Things To Pass The Time:

| Firefly had one of the coolest Silent Disco’s i’ve ever seen. Silent Disco’s have been at nearly every music festival I’ve ever been to, but this one was different. It was in the middle of the woods, pretty secluded from all of the stages. So many people were rocking out in silence; it was crazy!

| The Hammock Hangout: I spent a solid 2 hours one day rocking back and forth on hammocks at the festival. They have a giant area that is filled with hundreds of hammocks. It is so peaceful and a wonderful addition to the festival.

Overall, Firefly was great and I can’t wait to return in the future!

Leave a comment